CHRISTMAS TRADITIONS THE CHRISTMAS TREE

PART TWO of THREE

There is widely held belief that Martin Luther while walking home from church and looking up at the stars; He went home and wired candles to his Christmas tree to simulate the twinkling of the stars. (Martin Luther was German and a Catholic Priest; rejecting the teachings of the Roman Catholic Church). Eventually this caught on and candles were glued to the branches with wax, pinned or wired to the branches of the tree. Candles were an expensive light source and not affordable to everyone for decorating a tree.   Around the 1880’s Electric lights were introduced.

Edward Johnson is credited with inventing the electric tree lights. He was the Associate and Vice President to Thomas Edison’s business no surprise there. He had made 80 lights on a string of wires the size of walnuts in the colors of red, white and blue. These first lights were for indoor use only. By around the 1900’s businesses were dawning the electric lights in their windows. It wasn’t until around the 1930’s that the electric lights begun replacing candles. A teenager named Albert Sadacca whose family owned a novelty lighting company. In 1917 he suggested offering brightly colored Christmas lights. By 1920 he and his brothers formed the company called National Outfit Manufacturers Association. It soon became NOMA Electric Co. The company corned the market on Christmas tree lights until around 1960.

President Calvin Coolidge lit the National Christmas tree with 3,000 electric lights on the Ellipse, located south of the White House.

GElights3imagesER0TCAPKimages3N092WA5

Now we have twinkle lights some that can be set to music. Indoor/outdoor lights, shape lights, LED lights. I love Christmas lights and enjoy driving through the neighborhoods to see them along with the outside decorations. When I am with my children it makes so much more fun especially with my granddaughter. My Christmas tree can never have enough colored twinkle lights on it. The more the merrier. I always wanted to decorate the house on the outside when my kids were growing up. It only happened a few random times. I became a single parent and not being a ladder friendly person. I didn’t attempt to put lights on the house. So the kids and I would decorate the windows and hang the lights. They were thrilled when I let them decorate their bedroom windows with spray on snow, decals, and of course the lights.

I recall when I was growing up having the real tree that was flocked with snow. The real tree we had to meticulously put on the tinsel. I also remember the tin trees with the color wheel. It never seemed to work correctly or half the time. But it was cool when it did. I remember the big lights and never cared for them even for outdoor decorating. I loved the small colored twinkle lights. I insisted on having a real tree for many years when I was first married. There were a couple years we got a permit and cut down our own tree. That was so awesome. Finding out my daughter was allergic to a real tree we bought the fake one. I always felt something a bit amiss with an artificial tree. But have used them since. I think this year if I cannot have a real tree I will at least have a real wreath or some evergreen boughs placed in my home to decorate.

The lighting of the tree originated from Germany as did the tree itself. Though I have said I have German in my family I do not know much of the German culture. I love that this important and very prominent symbol of Christmas originated there. Thanks to Queen Victoria, she made it popular and acceptable.

imagesM496V7S1

by: JR Overturf

There are many meaning surrounding the Christmas tree. The one I hold dear is the Evergreen and Everlasting last given through Jesus Christ. I have always chosen to top my tree with an Angel. Angels are here to watch over us and protect us. Most importantly they are the bearers of God’s Good News.

Leave a comment